COVID-19 (Coronavirus)
UMBC is open. The physical campus is closed, but courses are now online and employees are working remotely.
Skip to Main Content

Anthony M. Johnson

Director, Center for Advanced Studies in Photonics Research (CASPR), Professor of Computer Science & Electrical Engineering (CSEE) and Professor of Physics


Uses ultrashort pulse lasers to investigate the ultrafast photophysics and nonlinear optical properties of bulk, nanoscale and quantum well semiconductor structures, ultrashort pulse propagation in fibers and novel waveguide structures and high-speed lightwave systems. Recent research in biophotonics includes the use of ultrashort blue laser pulses for laser-induced inactivation of murine norovirus, which is a leading cause of food-borne illness. Additional biophotonics research is underway to utilize laser-enhanced thermal imaging to detect breast and prostate cancer tumors in mouse models. His research career spans ultrafast optical and optoelectronic phenomena in both academia (UMBC and NJIT) and industry (AT&T Bell Laboratories). He has nearly 85 refereed publications, 2 book chapters and 4 US patents. He was elected 2002 President of the Optical Society of America (OSA); Editor-in-Chief of the journal Optics Letters(1995-2001); Co-Contributing Editor (2011-2016) OSA Optics & Photonics News (OPN)column “Promoting Diversity in Optics.” Professional society service includes Chair of the APS (American Physical Society) Committee on Minorities in Physics (92 & 93); Steering Committee Member of the APS Minority Bridge Program (2010-2015); Chair of the APS Bridge Program’s National Advisory Board (2015-2018); Founding Member, Editorial Board of APS open access journal Physical Review X (PRX)(2011-2018); Elected Member of the APS Nominating Committee (2016-2018); Distinguished Traveling Lecturer, APS Division of Laser Science (DLS) (2018-2021); OSA Representative to the Liaison Committee for Underrepresented Minorities (LCURM) of the American Institute of Physics (AIP) (2007-2019); Member, The Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus Quinn Prize Committee – the highest award of the OSA (2017-2019); Member, IEEE Corporate Innovation Award Committee (2016-2019); Deputy Director of the NSF Engineering Research Center (ERC) MIRTHE (Mid-Infrared Technologies for Health and the Environment) (2006-2016); Member, Advisory Council for the Princeton Institute for the Science and Technology of Materials (PRISM) at Princeton University (2018-2021); Member of the UMBC Executive Committee on the Recruitment, Retention and Advancement of Underrepresented Minority Faculty (2011- ); City College of New York (CCNY) Honorary Doctorate (June 2011); Invited to join the HistoryMakers/Science Makers (2013). A Fellow of the following professional organizations: AAAS, APS, IEEE, OSA and the National Society of Black Physicists (NSBP).

Learn More —

Back to full faculty page >>